The Word is Love by Florence Keeling

This is the second book set in Weddington, following on from A Little in Love, but is a standalone novel telling the story of Lucy. Lucy Greenfield is 29 and works in a livery yard and stables, along with her best friend Max Wells, who is the stable manager. Her two Shire horses – TopsyContinue reading “The Word is Love by Florence Keeling”

The Good News Gazette by Jessie Wells

Zoe Taylor is 33 years old and lives in Westholme with her football-loving son Charlie (8) and Lola the cat. She (Zoe, not Lola the cat) works as a journalist on the local newspaper The Northern News – or at least, she does until she is made redundant. She meets up with her best friendsContinue reading “The Good News Gazette by Jessie Wells”

Shake It Up, Beverley by Suzan Holder

As soon as I heard about this book, I wanted to read it. It’s got a fun cover, the blurb sounds great and it says it’s perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, which I am! I also loved that the main character, Beverley, is in her fifties like I am. So, onto the story… BeverleyContinue reading “Shake It Up, Beverley by Suzan Holder”

Dastardly Deeds at St Bride’s by Debbie Young

(A Gemma Lamb Cosy Mystery) Gemma Lamb is thirty years old, she’s just split up with her long-term boyfriend Steven and has taken a job as a teacher at St Bride’s School for Girls – mainly because she’s now homeless and the job comes with accommodation. Set in a beautiful former stately home, it’s anContinue reading “Dastardly Deeds at St Bride’s by Debbie Young”

Christmas at the Village Sewing Shop by Helen Rolfe

I’ve previously read The Farmhouse of Second Chances and Finding Happiness at Heritage View by Helen Rolfe and really enjoyed them both, so I was keen on read her latest book too – Christmas at the Village Sewing Shop. As sewing is something I love, this gave me an extra reason to read it andContinue reading “Christmas at the Village Sewing Shop by Helen Rolfe”

Snowfall Over Halesmere House by Suzanne Snow

Suzanne Snow is one of the friendliest authors I know online and her Facebook group – Snowed In – is one of my favourite groups. I especially enjoy the Facebook Live interviews she does with fellow authors. I own three of her books, but hadn’t got round to reading them – then I got SnowfallContinue reading “Snowfall Over Halesmere House by Suzanne Snow”

You Don’t Know What War Is by Yeva Skalietska

Everyone has been moved by this year’s events in Ukraine. I personally have friends over there – one who I haven’t heard from for months now – and we have all seen the news reports of the Russians bombing Ukraine, President Zelensky being defiant against Putin’s threats. But this book – You Don’t Know WhatContinue reading “You Don’t Know What War Is by Yeva Skalietska”

A Winter Wish by Rosie Green

This is part of the Little Duck Pond Café series, but can be read as a standalone. However, as it’s part of a trilogy of Clara’s story, I’d recommend you at least read Clara’s Secret Garden first. I love Rosie Green’s books. The characters are so believable, the setting is wonderful and her writing isContinue reading “A Winter Wish by Rosie Green”

The Confession by Maureen Myant

Hobeck Books have produced some excellent novels this year, I have been very impressed with them and the wonderful talented authors they publish. I was therefore looking forward to reading their latest release – The Confession by Maureen Myant. Julie Campbell is 45 and a music teacher in Scotland. When she is found dead atContinue reading “The Confession by Maureen Myant”