A New Year for the Seaside Girls by Tracy Baines

The book begins at the start of 1940. We meet Ruby Randolph, who has been performing on stage since she was four years old. With her elder brother Johnny, they had been top of the bill at Grimsby’s Palace Theatre, but now Ruby is ill.

We also meet Johnny’s ex-girlfriend Frances O’Leary as Johnny discovers he has a young daughter called Imogen. He finds out his mother and sister never passed on the letters the two lovers wrote to each other. In the meantime, Frances’s theatre career has suffered as she’s had to care for their child.

The story is set around the theatre and those working in it, so if you are interested in that kind of thing, this will be a perfect read for you. I loved that it was set in Lincolnshire as that is where I am from and I loved all the characters, especially how the seaside girls (variety girls) look out for each other. It has a great family feel to it and everyone is very believable, so you get involved in the story quickly and hope everything will turn out well.

This book ticks lots of boxes. If you are a fan of historical novels set in World War II, you will love this. Also fans of sagas set in England. I love these kinds of books, so I knew I would enjoy this. It is the third in the series, but can be read as a standalone as the author explains anything you need to know. However, I personally recommend reading any series in the correct order.

Tracy Baines has a lovely writing style. Her novels are easy to get into, easy to follow and her characters are authentic. Highly recommended.


A New Year for the Seaside Girls

Can the Seaside Girls embrace the new year with courage…

Cleethorpes – 1940

As the new year dawns the show at the Empire comes to an end and it’s time for the girls to move on.

Years of struggle are over for Frances O’ Leary when Johnny Randolph returns to make things right for her and their daughter – do they have a chance of happiness? of being a family after so long?

But their good fortune is fraught with complications when sister Ruby Randolph decides to have her last hurrah, leaving a trail of devastation in her wake.

Jessie Delaney is afraid to follow her dreams and leave those she loves behind – can she really have it all?

All the seaside girls have their own battles to fight. And while they figure things out it’s time for them to do their bit for the war and keep Britain smiling.

A gritty and heart-warming saga perfect for readers of Elaine Everest, Nancy Revell and Pam Howes.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3IaMiXf

Author Bio –

Tracy Baines is the bestselling saga writer of The Variety Girls series, originally published by Ebury, which Boldwood will continue with. She was born and brought up in Cleethorpes and spent her early years in the theatre world which inspired her writing. The first title of her new saga series for Boldwood – set amongst the fisherfolk of Grimsby – will be published in October 2022.

Social Media Links –  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tracybainesauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tracyfbaines

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tracyfbaines/

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/TracyBainesNews

Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/tracy-baines

Published by karenlouisehollis

53, lives in Lincoln, England. Published writer, book blogger and reviewer, mum, grandma, cat owner, vegetarian. Loves reading and sewing. My second novel is out now - a second chance romance set at the seaside - STARTING AGAIN IN SILVER SANDS BAY.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: