Just One Day – Summer

MY REVIEW

Just One Day – Summer is Book 3 of 4 in Susan’s series and follows on from the previous two books, but can be read as a standalone. Everything you need to know is mentioned, so you are soon up to date with previous events. (I had read the previous book, but still appreciated the reminder of what had happened.)

The story begins on June 30th with Louisa and Ronnie Halliday seeing the midwife to confirm they are having their fourth child. It’s five years since Louisa had her third baby and as she’ll be forty when number four is born, she is termed a ‘geriatric mother.’ (I could relate to this. I had my fifth baby at 42, sixteen years after number four!) After their house was seriously damaged in the previous book, the baby is a positive thing in their lives.

Their children Gen (12), Hugo (8) and Aria (4) are wonderfully written, they bounce off the pages and you can really see their personalities shining through. (The little two can also be REALLY naughty!) I also love reading about Louisa’s relationship with her sisters Wendy and Jo.

Louisa is pushed so hard at times, you have to feel sorry for her. All the stress around her – Ronnie trying to change his job, Louisa having more work responsibility with Fabien, the kids, the housing situation, arghhh! She is such a strong woman, you have to admire how she copes with everything.

One of the many things I love about Susan’s books is the sense of place and community. Each book feels like you’re returning to a familiar place and catching up with old friends. The village is completely believable and I love visiting it again with each new book.

This novel is another triumph! I was up into the early hours reading it, as I wanted to know what happened. Susan’s books have everything you could want – great settings, wonderful characters and gripping storylines.

5 stars from me.

BLURB

Just One Day – Summer

‘Gorgeous, glorious and uplifting. A delight to read.’ (Christie Barlow)

List-juggling, business-owner mum-of-three Louisa is reeling after a tragedy, as well as learning how to cope after a life-changing revelation. With oil worker husband Ronnie possibly being able to move onshore, she hopes he can help her manage the burden.
But the secrets she keeps are causing her headaches and she’s unsure if her ability to make good decisions has deserted her. All she seems to do is upset those around her.
With Louisa’s to-do list gathering pace at an incredible speed, will she manage to provide a stable home for them all, embrace her new normal as well as rebuild their life from what’s left?
And if she gets what she has always wanted, will it match up to her expectations?

For fans of Milly Johnson, Sarah Morgan and Heidi Swain.

Purchase link – https://books2read.com/u/3yKNa6

Author Bio – Susan Buchanan lives in Scotland with her husband, their two young children and a crazy Labrador called Benji. She has been reading since the age of four and had to get an adult library pass early as she had read the entire children’s section by the age of ten.

Susan writes contemporary fiction, often set in Scotland, usually featuring travel, food or Christmas. When not working, writing, or caring for her two delightful cherubs, Susan loves reading (obviously), the theatre, quiz shows and eating out – not necessarily in that order!

Social Media Links – Website – www.susanbuchananauthor.com

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Susan_Buchanan

Facebook – www.facebook.com/susan.buchanan.author

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/AuthorSusanBuchanan/

Published by karenlouisehollis

52, lives in Lincoln, England. Published writer, book blogger and reviewer, mum, grandma, cat owner, vegetarian. Loves reading and sewing. My novel is out - WELCOME TO WHITLOCK CLOSE.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: