Hotel Portofino by J P O’Connell

HOTEL PORTOFINO by J. P. O’Connell

It’s Italy in 1926 and an English woman called Bella Ainsworth has recently opened the Hotel Portofino. As the guests arrive, we learn their stories alongside the problems Bella faces too, and also the rising tensions of the political movements in Italy itself.

The back cover of the book says ‘perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown’ and as those are two of my all-time favourite television series, I really wanted to read this book and I wasn’t disappointed. It’s very much a character study, as all the characters are beautifully layered and we learn more about them as each layer is peeled back.

It’s beautifully written, the author has a wonderful grasp of language and it’s one of those novels where on the surface, not much seems to happen. But look underneath and so much is going on! It reminded me of ducks swimming beautifully on a clear pond, but underneath their feet are going madly to keep them afloat.

All of the characters are flawed, but you will still fall in love with many of them, as their fragility and vulnerability is displayed as you continue to turn the pages. It is also a very visual book and there will be a television adaptation coming to BritBox this month and on ITV this summer.

8 ½ out of 10

Published by karenlouisehollis

52, lives in Lincoln, England. Published writer, bookblogger and reviewer, mum, grandma, cat owner, vegetarian. Loves reading and sewing.

2 thoughts on “Hotel Portofino by J P O’Connell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: